Waiting pic*We are so excited to announce a new addition to our Rediscovered team, Rachel! Rachel will be helping us coordinate social media so you can see more great stuff everyday. Head on over to our Meet Us page to check out her bio and read her first article for us here, Waiting on God.

Waiting, waiting, waiting … Sometimes it seems like all we do in life is wait. We wait in line at the grocery store. We wait for our favorite movie to come to our local Redbox. We wait in traffic. We wait for our next paycheck.

Waiting is a part of life.

Yet the American culture is continually progressing towards a time when waiting will no longer be necessary. We live in a time of instant gratification where people expect to be given things immediately. Netflix, Hulu and Amazon have all provided streaming movies and television on demand. We can watch what we want, when we want it — which is immediately. Music and books can be instantly downloaded to a smartphone, e-reader or tablet. We can check our email instantly, wherever we are, 24/7.

Waiting is slowly disappearing.

Nevertheless, I find myself in a season of waiting. Waiting for a job. Waiting for a husband. Currently I am single and unemployed. I find myself longing for a job that glorifies God, allows me to do what I am passionate about and helps me to provide for myself. I also find myself waiting to meet a guy, fall in love, marry and start a family. Sometimes I feel like I am just waiting on God to show up for me like He has for others. When will it be my turn? Why is God making me wait?

My season of waiting is marked by loneliness and insecurity. Often I look on social media and see pictures of people my age enjoying family, their husbands or engagements, and I feel lonely. Or I sit by myself in church and look around noticing all the couples and families. Being single can be lonely.

I am also waiting for a job. I have been searching for a job for months now. Hundreds of applications and over a dozen interviews have yielded nothing. It is discouraging not to have a job. I constantly pray, asking God for a job that is according to His will and will glorify Him. I wonder what God has for me. But so far I have received no answer.

How frustrating is that?

So this led me to look at what the Bible says about waiting. I researched different places in the Bible where the Hebrew and Greek word for ‘wait’ or ‘waiting’ is used.

This is what I found …

HOW should we wait for God?

  1. We should wait on God with earnest desire.  (Psalm 130:6)
  2. We should wait patiently for the Lord. (Psalm 37:7; Psalm 40:1; Psalm 69:3)
  3. We should wait with hope in His word. (Psalm 130:5)
  4. We should wait with full confidence that God will hear us. (Micah 7:7)
  5. We should wait on God in prayer. (Psalm 25:21; Isaiah 33:2)

But WHY do we wait or WHY should we wait?

  1. We wait on God in the midst of adversity. (Psalm 59:1-9)
  2. We wait as a testing of our faith. (Psalm 69:3)

What does Scripture say to those who wait?

  1. Those who wait will be heard. (Psalm 40:1)
  2. Those who wait are blessed. (Isaiah 30:18)
  3. Those who wait experience God’s goodness. (Lamentations 3:25)
  4. Those who wait will not be ashamed. (Psalm 24:3)
  5. Those who wait will be strengthened. (Isaiah 40:31)
  6. Those who wait will inherit the earth. (Psalm 37:9)

Waiting is part of the Christian life. So if you find yourself in a season of waiting remember God sometimes allows His children to wait for things in order to develop the fruit of patience, and to teach perseverance or trust. God promises good things to those who wait upon Him. He has not forgotten you. He has a plan and He is sovereign.

This is something I must remember daily. God is sovereign. His will is perfect. Wait on Him and He will hear and be faithful to answer.

So what can I do now while I am waiting?

This is something  I struggled with in the beginning. I find myself with more free time than I used to have and a lot of time to feel discouraged.

Recently, I read a quote about praising God in the hallway. Sometimes we find ourselves in a place where God has closed a door and not yet opened another one. And we wonder, What now? But God always calls us to praise Him in EVERY circumstance.

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (ESV)

I love that. Paul says, “Rejoice ALWAYS …” God just doesn’t call us to praise Him in the trials, tribulations or the happy times, but also in seasons of waiting.

He also asks us to pray and to hope in His word. So use this time to get to know Him more. To seek Him and when the time is right He will be faithful and answer our prayer according to His will.

Rachel

 

*photo credit: Britney @baretribe

Waiting on God

One thought on “Waiting on God

  1. Pingback: Spiritual Growth | rediscovered

What do you think?

