8 thoughts on “Why I don’t feel like spending time with God – Day 3

  1. This comment from Katie on the facebook page is too good not to share:

    Erin King, Thanks for sharing! I consider part of my calling to pray for others. Others have affirmed this by asking me to pray for them all the time. There can be a lot of weight that comes from that. What I have to continually remind myself of is that yes, we are meant to carry one another’s burdens, BUT not to drag them around. We carry them to Jesus in the prayer and should leave them there. Easy enough yet so hard. I don’t know God’s will for them, I don’t have the power to change their situations…only the Trinity does.

    God knows my heart and so when I have so many needs (literally that I can’t even say them all in great detail or I’d be there all day just listing them, I say something like “Lord for all of the physical, emotional, and spiritual needs of those you have placed before me–may you give them patience and peace. I offer up my suffering for them as a means to relieve them of any sufferings they may be enduring, as You see fit.” Then I just spend time with Him. If He calls me to pray in specific details or repeatedly, I do. I just don’t want that to be all that I do in my time with Him.

    Great Job, Sister’

  2. Pingback: Spiritual Growth | rediscovered

  3. Pingback: Why I don’t feel like spending time with God – Day 1 | rediscovered

  4. Pingback: Why I don’t feel like spending time with God – Day 2 | rediscovered

  5. Thank you so much for this mini series!! It has helped me feel not alone in my struggles to spend “quiet” time with God. It’s so refreshing to know I’m not alone and it’s ok to be honest to where I’m at. Thanks.

  6. Vanessa, so glad you were able to relate to and benefit from this series. I felt alone in this for a long time too, But I’ve been so surprised at how many people say this is exactly how they feel as well. Honesty is always a good place to start with God and with other Christians! Thanks for your thoughts on this!

    – Erin

  7. oh! I thank the Lord for your transparency. i have been liberated by your testimony. god bless you and thank you for saying yes to Him.

What do you think?

