*This post does not reflect the beliefs of every contributing writer to this blog. This post is the opinion and experience of the writer.

The reason this is not going to be a typical political post is because, honestly, I’m not invested in which candidate wins.

If I were going to be really brave, and listen to what the Holy Spirit is telling me to say, I’d have to tell you I think most of my friends and prominent Christian leaders are wrong. Not necessarily with whom they will cast their vote, but for the way they have treated others in the name of political activism, justice and morality. Not in my opinion, but according to Scripture.

It’s been weighing on my heart very heavily for the past few months how I’ve seen Christians behaving during this election season. From rude and sarcastic posts, to downright hateful and unloving comments toward the candidates and other Christians, I’ve seen it all — from some of my Christian friends, and even leaders in the evangelical community. It seems as though the cultural expectation to pick a side has won out, and in the backlash, brothers and sisters are being hurt and pushed to the side.

I don’t want to downgrade the blessing that it is to vote. When the major campaigning began a few months ago, I was conflicted about who I would vote for. Former Governor Romney is a Mormon. If you don’t know exactly what Mormons believe, I would challenge you to search it out, it is against the Bible completely. President Obama claims to have Christian ties, but there is little evidence of any fruit to support the statement in the years he has already been in office.

So what’s a girl to do? After a lot of prayer and some quietude, I honestly felt a huge conviction not to vote for the office of President, or at least not for either of the primary candidates.

Notice I didn’t say not vote at all.

I don’t believe, as some have suggested, that we should throw the baby out with the bath water. I will vote for state and local officials and important policies that I feel led to vote for. My husband and I have put a lot of effort into being competent about as many policies and candidates as we can. But I do not feel led to vote for either prominent Presidential candidate.

Before anyone gets too worked up, hear that I’m saying it was my conviction. I would hope that if I feel the Holy Spirit telling me something, and I then search it out in Scripture and find it agreeing, that my Christian brothers and sisters would support me in it. But I have gotten quite a bit of backlash from it, and so I wanted to explain my reasoning.

I began looking at my reasons for just having to vote. And to me, it became clear, in my opinion, that even though it’s a blessing, it’s also a very cultural thing.

In America, we are blessed with a lot of privileges and freedoms. One of those being our right to vote for our leaders and laws. But it is just a right. It is not a command from the government, it is not a command from God. It is just a right we have because of the place we live.

I’ve heard many arguments against the way I’ve chosen to handle the election.

But it just became evident to me, after searching out an answer, that what this country needs is not an amazing foreign policy. It doesn’t need another tax reform or even an upstanding moral agenda. Candidates may promise those things, but who can? They are just men. We live in a country of fallen people, myself included, for one man to say he can fix it all. He is also just a man, and, more importantly, those things are not going to save this country.

Who we need is Christ.

Israel fought so hard for a leader, seeing God as not enough. And so He let them have what they wanted and they chose Saul, an imperfect man who could not even come close to God.

And neither of the prominent candidates in this election are going to lead us any closer to Him; evidence by their own fruit and admissions. What good is morality in a country with no respect for God? What good is saving a baby’s life or feeding the hungry or preserving traditional marriage if God is nowhere to be seen? We might look pretty on the outside, but we’re rotten at the core. There still might be leaves on the tree, but the roots are dead …

It then becomes a game of following a moral code or law and feeling comfortable in its security. We want to give that role to a leader and then blame him when it all falls apart. He is our scapegoat. But what if God is calling us to be uncomfortable and take on the role of justice keeper and moral provider for our country, not by a vote, but by the way we live our owns lives. By the way our churches function and by the way the Church itself lives out Scripture.

I don’t want you to decide your vote based on anything I’ve said. I have no authority. I want everyone to seek God fervently. If you are certain the Holy Spirit is leading you to vote for one man or the other, do it. But please, don’t use any excuses to accuse or judge a brother or sister. My only hope in writing this is that maybe Christians will see God is the only one who can put this country back on track, and only if He so chooses. Voting for morality is not going to save us, and bashing each other or the candidates is not loving and doesn’t lead anyone toward Him.

If you have a strong opinion and just have to share it, learn to control what you say, and how and to whom you say it. And please understand there is no magic pill for this country. Neither prominent candidate nor any law passed will ever free this country from its own bondage. Freedom comes through Christ alone. The appointed leader will lead as best he can, as a man and nothing more. And we may vote, but God let’s him have office, make no mistake.

We should be in prayer for all our leaders, current and future, and pray for whom God would have us to vote, or if he would have us vote at all.

And remember, you are no one else’s Holy Spirit.

So then, we must pursue what promotes peace and what builds up one another. Do not tear down God’s work because of food. Everything is clean, but it is wrong for a man to cause stumbling by what he eats. It is a noble thing not to eat meat, or drink wine, or do anything that makes your brother stumble. Do you have a conviction? Keep it to yourself before God. The man who does not condemn himself by what he approves is blessed. But whoever doubts stands condemned if he eats, because his eating is not from a conviction, and everything that is not from a conviction is sin. (Romans 14:19-22 HCSB).

Flee from youthful passions, and pursue righteousness, faith, love, and peace, along with those who call on the Lord from a pure heart. But reject foolish and ignorant disputes, knowing that they breed quarrels. The Lord’s slave must not quarrel, but must be gentle to everyone, able to teach, and patient, instructing his opponents with gentleness. Perhaps God will grant them repentance leading them to the knowledge of the truth. Then they may come to their senses and escape the Devil’s trap, having been captured by him to do his will. (2 Timothy 2:22-26 HCSB)

“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned,but have not love, I gain nothing. … As for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away.For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away. When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways. For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.” (1 Corinthians 3:1-3, 8-12 ESV)

-Whitney

A Christian’s behavior and thoughts during the election season

One thought on “A Christian’s behavior and thoughts during the election season

  1. Pingback: Life & Culture | rediscovered

What do you think?

